Skip to main content

Degree Offerings and Academic Programs

Florida State University is a comprehensive degree granting university, offering baccalaureate degrees in 107 programs, master's degrees in 126 programs, advanced master's/specialist degrees in 25 programs, doctorates in 80 programs and three professional degrees. The university offers fully accredited programs in law (J.D.), medicine (M.D.) and nursing.

Degree programs are available at branch campuses in Panama City, Florida, and the Republic of Panama and off-campus instructional sites in Sarasota, Gainesville, and St. Petersburg. In addition, the university offers several undergraduate and graduate degree programs that may be completed entirely online.

The College of Medicine has regional campuses in Daytona Beach, Ft. Pierce, Orlando, Pensacola, Sarasota and Tallahassee. Students complete their required clinical rotations at one of these locations. In these urban centers and the surrounding rural areas, the clinical training program extends into hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, managed care organizations, private clinics and other outpatient settings. Targeted rural clinical training sites are located in Marianna and Immokalee.

The Ringling Museum in Sarasota, affiliated with Florida State University, is the largest museum/university complex in the U.S. and houses one of the most significant collections of fine art in North America.

Florida State University also offers a variety of study abroad opportunities for students during the regular academic year, as well as in special summer programs in Florence, Italy; Panama City, Republic of Panama; Valencia, Spain; and London, England.