| florida state university |
Relive FSU History

Sesqui Logo


Council & Commission


  Francis Eppes VII
  1851 - 1905
  1905 - 1947
  1947 - 1959
  1959 - 1980
  1980 - 1990



Commemorative Items

150 Home

FSU Home


FSU Athletics

Florida State Athletics began in 1902 when the then Florida State College football teams played three seasons. From 1905 to 1946, the Florida State College was known as the Florida State College for Women. The Florida State University became a co-ed institution in 1947 with most of the newly enrolled male students back from service in World War II. Florida State fielded its first football team in 43 years with FSU facing Stetson on October 18, 1947.

The Seminoles move from Centennial Field to Doak S. Campbell Stadium for the first game in the new facility on October 7, 1950. Two defunct men’s sports won four championships during the 50’s with men’s gymnastics taking home the title in 1950-51 and 1951-52, while the men’s volleyball program won national championships in 1955 and 1957. In 1957, the baseball team made its first trip to the College World Series.

Fred Biletnikoff became Florida State’s first consensus All-American in 1964. A Hall of Fame player with the Oakland Raiders, the national award for the top college receiver is named after Biletnikoff. In 1966, Jim Lyttle became the school’s initial first round draft pick in the major league draft.

The men’s basketball team advanced to the national championships game where it lost to UCLA during the 1971 to 1972 season. On January 12, 1976, Florida State president Stanley Marshall and Athletics Director John Bridgers name Bobby Bowden the eighth coach in the history of Florida State football.

The 1980’s were a busy time for Women’s athletics at Florida State. Florida State won five national championships during a four-year span in the early 1980’s. The women’s golf team won the AIAW championship in 1981, while the softball team won back-to-back titles in 1981-82. In 1982, the women’s basketball team advanced to the championship game of the women’s NIT, where it lost to Oregon State 76-60. In 1983, Women’s basketball made its first appearance in the NCAA Tournament, losing to Ole Miss 86-76. The women’s track program captured the 1984 outdoor championships, and then followed by winning the indoor crown in 1985. In 1987, the softball team made its first appearance in the NCAA Women’s College World Series. Nicknamed “Prime Time,” Deion Sanders won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation’s top defensive back in 1988.

The 1990’s proved to be an even busier time for Florida State Athletics as a whole. In 1990, the softball team made the first of four-straight trips to the Women’s College World Series. In 1991, back in the NCAA Tournament for the second year in a row, women’s basketball won its first tournament game 96-57 over Appalachian State. In 1992, Florida State became the ninth member of the Atlantic Coast Conference. Prior to the 1992-93 school year, the Seminoles had participated in the Metro Conference from 1976-92. In 1993, the Seminole football team won its first national championship behind quarterback Charlie Ward, the school’s first Heisman Trophy winner. In 1993, a year after a trip to the Sweet 16, the men’s basketball team advanced to the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament. The team featured three NBA players in Charlie Ward, Bobby Sura and Sam Cassell. In 1995, Florida State added women’s soccer, giving the school 17 sports. In 1997, Baseball player JD Drew was named national player of the year six times, including the Golden Spikes Award and the Dick Howser Award, named after the former Florida State head coach. In 1999, Florida State football returned to the top of the mountain as the Seminoles became the first school to ever hold the number one spot in both the Associated Press and Coaches’ Poll the entire season on their way to a national championship.

In recent years, Senior quarterback Chris Weinke became the school’s second Heisman Trophy winner in 2000. In 2001, ending a ten-year drought, the women’s basketball team returned to the NCAA Tournament by advancing to the second round.

First Season for FSU sports

Football – 1947
Men’s Basketball - 1947
Baseball – 1948
Men’s Tennis – 1948
Men’s Golf – 1948
Men’s Volleyball – 1948 (Ended 1957)
Men’s Swimming & Diving – 1949
Men’s Track & Field - 1949
Men’s Cross Country – 1962
Men’s Gymnastics – 1949 (Ended in 1960)

Women’s Basketball - 1970
Volleyball – 1968
Women’s Swimming & Diving - 1976
Softball – 1978
Women’s Golf – 1979
Women’s Tennis – 1980
Women’s Track & Field - 1980
Women’s Cross Country – 1980
Soccer – 1995

Source: FSU Sports Information


Welcome | Council & Commission | Calendar | History | Partners | Resources
150th Home Page | FSU Home Page

Sesquicentennial Coordinator:
Carmen Braswell
©2000 Florida State University » University Relations
Site Management: Debbie Kelly

Original Design: Steve Rine