Screenreader Navigation - [Skip to Content  | Skip to Main Navigation ]
[FSU Seal Image]
Florida State University

Nationally Renowned Faculty

Nobel Prize winner Sir Harold Kroto, of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, is a recipient of the Copley Medal, the highest award of the Royal Society in Britain.

Sir Harold Kroto
Nobel Prize and Copley Medal Winner

Meteorology Professor T.N. Krishnamurti is one of few Americans ever to win the International Meteorological Organization Prize, the world’s top meteorology award.

Internationally acclaimed Analytical Chemistry Professor Alan Marshall, a fellow of the American Physical Society, has recently received the American Chemical Society’s Oesper Award.

College of Music Professor Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, also a Florida State graduate, is the first woman to win the Pulitzer in music. She also is a four-time Grammy nominee, is the first woman to earn a doctorate in composition at the Julliard School and is the first-ever occupant of Carnegie Hall’s Composer’s Chair.

Pulitzer Prize-winning author and Florida State English Professor Robert Olen Butler has won two National Magazine Awards in Fiction from the American Association of Magazine Editors.

Academy Award winner Richard Portman, of the College of Motion Picture, Television and Recording Arts, has received 11 Academy Award nominations for sound work in feature films.

Our Department of Dance faculty—one of the largest and most accomplished dance faculties in the country—includes legendary ballerina and 2006 Kennedy Honors recipient Suzanne Farrell.

New York Times bestselling author Mark Winegardner, a Creative Writing professor, was selected by Random House and the Mario Puzo Estate to write the sequel to The Godfather.

College of Education Professor Barbara Foorman, an internationally recognized scholar in the areas of reading and language development, served as the nation’s first commissioner of education research.