Skip to main content

Degree Offerings and Academic Programs

Florida State University is a comprehensive degree granting university, offering baccalaureate degrees in 107 programs, master's degrees in 126 programs, advanced master's/specialist degrees in 25 programs, doctorates in 80 programs and three professional degrees. The university offers fully accredited programs in both law (J.D.) and medicine (M.D.).

Degree programs at branch campuses in Panama City, Sarasota and the Republic of Panama are also available. The Ringling Museum in Sarasota, affiliated with Florida State University, is the largest museum/university complex in the U.S. and houses one of the most significant collections of fine art in North America.

The College of Medicine has regional campuses throughout the state in Daytona Beach, Ft. Pierce, Orlando, Pensacola, Sarasota and Tallahassee. Students complete their required clinical rotations at one of these locations. In these urban centers and the surrounding rural areas, the clinical training program extends into hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, managed care organizations, private clinics and other outpatient settings. Targeted rural training sites are located at Marianna and Immokalee.

In addition to the branch campuses, the university offers a variety of overseas study opportunities for students during the regular academic year, as well as in special summer programs. Florida State University study centers are located in Florence, Italy; Panama City, Republic of Panama; Valencia, Spain; and London, England.